All Blacks snubbed in the nominations for World Player of the Year

Will Jordan's All Blacks goal scoring has nominated him landmark Player of the Year.

Chris Hyde / Getty Images

Will Jordan’s All Blacks goal scoring has nominated him landmark Player of the Year.

The All Blacks were snubbed in the nominations for the World Rugby Player of the Year Award.

It is the first time since 2004 that New Zealand has not shortlisted a player for the prestigious gong.

England and British & Irish Lions lock Maro Itoje, France’s halfback Antoine Dupont, Wallabie’s flanker and skipper Michael Hooper and the Australian center Samu Kerevi are the finalists.


Fiji winger Eroni Sau was red carded against Wales for a head shot in the first half.

There are no springboks, although the world champions come out of hibernation to defeat the Lions and claim an exciting victory over the All Blacks.

* Super Rugby Pacific: Ian Foster reveals how All Blacks is handled
* All Blacks vs France: “It hurt. We were played out ”- Ian Foster urges Paris to respond
* All Blacks vs France: Anton Lienert-Brown out, Beauden Barrett doubtful for tour final

And since two Australians were nominated in one year, they were flashed three times by the All Blacks and only suffered losses against Scotland and England.

An All Black has been named Player of the Year ten times since its inception in 2001.

The All Blacks gain some relief in other categories with Ian Foster nominated for Coach of the Year and Will Jordan nominated for Breakthrough Player of the Year.

All Blacks boss Ian Foster has New Zealand opponents in the coach of the year category.

Will Russell / Getty Images

All Blacks boss Ian Foster has New Zealand opponents in the coach of the year category.

Foster faces competition for the coaching award from New Zealand sevens aces Allan Bunting and Cory Sweeney.

New Zealand’s presence is thin in other areas as well.

Veteran Scott Curry is nominated for Sevens Player of the Year, while Sarah Hirini is one of the four women’s sevens finalists.

Luke Jacobson’s landing for the All Blacks in September against Argentina is a finalist in Try of the Year.

The players in the Men and Women of the Year category are determined through a fan vote. The winners will be announced from December 7th, once the current international season in Europe is over.


Men’s 15th Player of the Year: Antoine Dupont (France), Michael Hooper (Australia), Maro Itoje (England / British and Irish Lions), Samu Kerevi (Australia).

15th Women’s Player of the Year: Zoe Aldcroft (England), Caroline Boujard (France), Poppy Cleall (England), Laure Sansus (France).

Breakthrough Player of the Year: Will Jordan (New Zealand), Andrew Kellaway (Australia), Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales), Marcus Smith (England).

Trainer of the year: Allan Bunting / Cory Sweeney (New Zealand Women Sevens), Ian Foster (New Zealand Men), Simon Middleton (England Women), Dave Rennie (Australia Men).

Seventh Men’s Player of the Year: Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji), Scott Curry (New Zealand), Marcos Moneta (Argentina), Jiuta Wainiqolo (Fiji).

Seventh player of the year: Anne-Cécile Ciofani (France), Sarah Hirini (New Zealand), Alowesi Nakoci (Fiji), Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji).

Men’s trial of the year: Lukhanyo Am (South Africa A, against British and Irish Lions on July 14th), Pierre-Louis Barassi (France, against Australia on July 17th), Luke Jacobson (New Zealand, against Argentina on September 12th), Damian Penaud (France, against Scotland on March 26th).

Women’s trial of the year: Sara Barattin (Italy, against Scotland on September 13th), Emilie Boulard (France, against Wales on April 3rd), Abby Dow (England, against France on April 30th), Romane Ménager (France, against Ireland on April 17th ).

Source link

Comments are closed.